International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea

From SpottingWorld, the Hub for the SpottingWorld network...

The International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) is an international maritime safety treaty. The SOLAS Convention in its successive forms is generally regarded as the most important of all international treaties concerning the safety of merchant ships.


The first version of the treaty was passed in 1914 in response to the sinking of the RMS Titanic. It prescribed numbers of lifeboats and other emergency equipment along with safety procedures, including continuous radio watches.

Newer versions were adopted in 1929, 1948, 1960, and 1974.

The intention had been to keep the convention up to date by periodic amendments, but the procedure to incorporate the amendments proved to be very slow: it could take several years for the amendments to be put into action since countries had to give notice of acceptance to IMO and there was a minimum threshold of countries and tonnage.

As a result, a complete new convention was adopted in 1974 which includes all the agreements and acceptant procedures. Even the Convention was updated and amended on numerous times, the Convention in force today is sometimes referred as SOLAS, 1974.

1960 Version

The 1960 Convention — which was activated on 26 May 1965 — was the first major achievement for International Maritime Organization (IMO) after its creation and represented a massive advance in updating commercial shipping regulations and in staying up-to-date with new technology and procedures in the industry.

1974 Version

The 1974 version simplified the process for amending the treaty. A number of amendments have been adopted since. The latest Convention in 1974 included the "tacit acceptance" procedure whereby amendments enter into force by default unless nations file objections that meet a certain number or tonnage.

1980 Version

In particular, amendments in 1988 based on amendments of International Radio Regulations in 1987 replaced Morse code with the Global Maritime Distress Safety System (GMDSS) and came into force beginning 1 February 1992. An idea of the range of issues covered by the treaty can be gained from the list of sections (below).

Regions of International Water

SOLAS divides international waters into regions; see the map provided by the IMO ocean atlas. Also, see the status of these regions along with technical descriptions. Also, see a list of SAR topics.

Sections of the Treaty

International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS), 1974

See also


External links

ar:الاتفاقية الدولية لسلامة الحياة في البحر de:International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea es:Convenio Internacional para la Seguridad de la Vida Humana en el Mar fr:Solas id:Konvensi Internasional SOLAS it:Convenzione internazionale per la salvaguardia della vita umana in mare he:האמנה הבינלאומית לבטיחות החיים בים lt:SOLAS ms:Konvensyen Antarabangsa Untuk Keselamatan di Laut nl:SOLAS ja:海上における人命の安全のための国際条約 no:SOLAS pl:SOLAS pt:Convenção Internacional para a Salvaguarda da Vida no Mar ru:СОЛАС sl:Mednarodna konvencija o varstvu človeškega življenja na morju sv:SOLAS zh:国际海上人命安全公约